cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client wants me to sign this outside contract. Bad idea?

Dave W Member Since: Jan 6, 2016
1 of 33

Hi,

First off, sorry for the long post. I'm fairly new to Upwork and I have a potential client I'm about to start working with. They sent me this contract and I'm seeing a few red flags. The 1 year term, the no compete clause, and the payment terms.

Are there other things that stand out as deal breakers or that violate Upwork's ToS?

CONSULTING AGREEMENT

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 5, 2016

This Consulting Agreement (the "Agreement") is made by and between ____. ("Client") and ____, an individual ("Consultant").

1. Engagement of Services. Client may issue project assignments to Consultant in the form attached to this Agreement as Exhibit A (each, a "Project Assignment"). Subject to the terms of this Agreement, Consultant will render the services set forth in Project Assignment(s) accepted by Consultant by the completion dates set forth therein.

2. Compensation. Client will pay Consultant the fee set forth in each Project Assignment for services rendered pursuant to such Project Assignment. Consultant will be reimbursed only for expenses which are expressly provided for in a Project Assignment or which have been approved in advance in writing by Client, provided Consultant has furnished such documentation for authorized expenses as Client may reasonably request. Payment of Consultant's fees and expenses will be in accordance with terms and conditions set forth in the applicable Project Assignment.