cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client wants to pay 50% for about 95% of the work?

Community Leader
Michael Z Member Since: Jul 19, 2015
1 of 62

Hello,

Before you all start posting: "don't do it" - read this please.

I'm pretty new to Upwork but not to "freelancing" as a whole. Most of the time, when not working through Upwork. I ask for full payment beforehand to avoid things like this.  Unfortunately, Upwork (understandably) holds everything until things have been completed.

This issue is regarding  a client who wanted a website for their company. The usual "We will be  the most prominent company in... and we want long term this and this".  I didn't mind that at first, because it was my "job" to create ther website, not more not less. So that's where I started. Over the past weeks of creating this, the client has refused to respond through upwork even once. Insisting that we use Skype only because they didn't like the email spam(warning flag#1). Besides them constantly asking for something different, I finally got to the point where content was the only thing I was supposed to add which I made the mistake  of offering to do outside. 

About 1 page of content was provided which I added. I waited a week for their opinion and today I was told that they dind't like it and were cancelling the contract because they did not like that it didn't look like their competitor's site.

Now I'm left with 2 options:
I created their website for them, for a fixed price. And did everything they asked - which means I did the job I was hired for and am supposed to be receiving 100% of the pay.

1.) I can accept their offer of 50% and let it be, they promised good rating on upwork if I accepted. 
2.) I can try to dispute through upwork, besides the message logs on upwork. I have screencaps, webarchives and more proof of the website having been completed according to their wishes.