Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Client won't pay after work is done

truedon
Tom W Member Since: Sep 14, 2015
1 of 35

Hi guys, 

I am new to working here and just signed up. My first client messed me around, but I have been able to report him to the support here. Now my second client got me to setup his server, install wordpress and get his VPN made. Now he is not coming online or replying to messages any further.

What can I do about this?

noirre
Community Guru
Hanna N Member Since: Jun 17, 2015
2 of 35

If this was an hourly job and you used the time tracker, unless he disputes the hours, he will be charged and you will get paid.

If you used manual time, there is no guarantee.

If this was a fixed price contract and and the money was put into escrow, if you used the "submit work" button and he does not dispute, you will get paid.

If this was an fixed price contract and the money was NOT put in escrow, you are screwed.

truedon
3 of 35

I couldn't use the tracker as both clients refused to answer my questions about accepting the contract and just wanted to talk on skype. Foolishly I have done the work thinking they would pay me the common respect but obviously not. 

Can I report them?

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 35

Tom, reporting them will bring no benefit to you. You could be suspended for policy violations, specifically for working without a contract or getting paid outside Upwork. You did not do that, but what you did could be easily interpreted that way 

The money is gone.

It is important to understand that there are proper procedures and also effective strategies and techniques that contractors use to avoid the negative outcomes you experienced.

You need to learn these things before your next job.

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
5 of 35

@Preston H wrote: