cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clients Asking for Personal Documents Normal?

j_manchester
New Forum Member
Hey Odesk Family - I just had a client ask me for identification to prove both my nationality and level of education (specifically, they were asking for a copy of my diploma/degree). I've never been asked this before, and as a Canadian freelancer, I am naturally concerned about things like identity theft. Is asking for this sort of documentation a normal and permitted practice on Odesk? It just seems a bit questionable to me! Any thoughts?
18 REPLIES 18
wabbles
Active
Direct the client to that if your university has one. It probably does, they have been around for 15 or more years. Any intelligent HR person or business owner knows about them. As far as nationality, that's a little offensive and I don't know how you would prove it without opening yourself to identity theft. So maybe ask why they want/need to know your nationality. I suspect they want to make sure they are hiring a native English speaker but that's not the way to go about it.
llutz
Ace Contributor

I logged onto the forum to find an answer to this topic as well.

The job proposal I am applying for states:

"Please send a resume, 3 references of last employers (when you worked as an editor), and 2 writing samples -- preferably one creative (poetry welcome), and one non-fiction. Please send a scan of your university degree."

The hiring party is a university professor at a major institution in my area. I researched them and they appear legitimate.

It's not out of the ordinary for academics to ask for this, as it is standard in the University system to show a resume and even transcripts.

They also encouraged me to contact them at the university address, but I am avoiding doing so because I don't want to infringe on Upwork policy.