🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Clients getting job done without paying o...
Page options
webonair
Community Member

Clients getting job done without paying on fixed price job

I am on odesk/upwork more then 10 years. So i have worked with many types of clients. As a freelancer i like to do work on fixed price job because of fixed requirements and the payment done quickly after release of milestone where hourly takes 2-3 weeks. Client also like fixed price because they dont have to tensed about over budget for their job.

Doing job on houlry on upwork is risk free for freelancer if he/she is honest with his work. But with fixed price there is risk for freelancers that client may not release the amount after job done, or changes/add requirements. I have faced some bad clients who did this with me. They add more requirements after complete their proposed requirements and upwork dont have any policy for this! means client can demand a cruise ship in a budget of small boat after hire a freelancer.

One of my recent client denied to pay me after i built his website and disputed the job and ask for release the funds from Escrow. i have shown alll proof's of my work on dispute window/chat. but client dont agree to pay me. after upwork support ask several time client agreed to pay me only 30usd! where the job was for 250usd. I denied clients offer and told him to delete my work, i dont need his money. But he did nothing. Then Upwork offered Arbitration,  And The fee for arbitration is $875 and is split three ways, with the client, the freelancer and Upwork each paying one third of the fee. So if i agree with it i have nothing to earn, I may have to pay more to get justice or else, so i skiped that. at the end client get away without paying me. and i cant give him feedback for it.