Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Clients posting same jobs again and again without having the intention to hire

Highlighted
Active Member
Anurag U Member Since: Jul 3, 2020
1 of 6

In my Upwork job feed I have noticed many clients post similar jobs repeated number of times and at the end of the don't hire in any of them.

This has happened to me a lot of times where I have wasted my Upwork Connects on such job postings.

Why there are all restrictions for Freelancers and no restrictions on Clients like a prohibition on having many active jobs without hiring, prohibition on posting the same job repeatedly without hiring or clients with low hire % be warned, or something similar.

It's very frustrating as a freelancer to see our hard-earned money waste applying for such positions.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Martina P Member Since: Jul 11, 2018
2 of 6

Anurag U wrote:

In my Upwork job feed I have noticed many clients post similar jobs repeated number of times and at the end of the don't hire in any of them.

This has happened to me a lot of times where I have wasted my Upwork Connects on such job postings.

Why there are all restrictions for Freelancers and no restrictions on Clients like a prohibition on having many active jobs without hiring, prohibition on posting the same job repeatedly without hiring or clients with low hire % be warned, or something similar.

It's very frustrating as a freelancer to see our hard-earned money waste applying for such positions.


Posting multiple identical jobs is not allowed, you need to flag them in the job posting.

Before you apply, check not only the hiring rate (which is what you asked for, it exists already), the prior feedback to and from the client, how much he usually pays for work, and other criteria you might find helpful. 

Highlighted
Active Member
Sam Y Member Since: Jan 18, 2020
3 of 6

Hi Martina,

 

How do we do that? Is it by clicking on "Flag as inappropriate" > it's something else > and leaving a comment that it's duplicate posting?

 

Thanks,

Sam

Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
4 of 6

Sam Y wrote:

How do we do that? Is it by clicking on "Flag as inappropriate" > it's something else > and leaving a comment that it's duplicate posting?


Yes. It's generally worth flagging them all (if there are multiple duplicate job posts) as sometimes Support just remove one and leave a bunch of others.

Highlighted
Moderator
Nikola S Moderator Member Since: Jul 2, 2020
5 of 6

Hi Anurag,

 

Could you please click on my name and send me a PM with more information about the job posts you are referring to? I will be sure to look into your report and escalate it accordingly.

~ Nikola

Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Anurag U Member Since: Jul 3, 2020
6 of 6

I have messaged you all the details.

I hope the matter will be taken seriously as it's very disheartening as a new freelancer watching their money waste due to such clients.

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS