cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clients should close the job after hiring

Milos M Member Since: Jun 4, 2015
1 of 26

Hello everyone, 

I'm new to this conversations on upwork so i apologise id this topic is live somewhere else.

The thing is, my interviews and applications are live and active days and weeks after the job was posted and the client already hired someone.

This is very annoying, i don't want the connects back, i just want to know should i or should i not expect someone to contact me for some job.

I think this would be very easy to solve if clients were regularly asked about their job/contract/whatever status.

Regards,

Milos

Ace Contributor
George K Member Since: Mar 7, 2015
2 of 26

Experience has shown me that if I don’t get a response within a day or two, I don’t get the job at all. So, usually after a week max I withdraw my application. Also, most clients never close the job posting after hiring someone else.

Mirzet K Member Since: May 6, 2015
3 of 26

I agree. Some of them don't hire anyone (there is no sign that they hired anyone) and, the job posting stays open and we all lose connects on these job postings. For example, there are job postings with headings like 'Urgent, needed to be done in 4 hours' and then it stays open for the next seven days, and there is no one they hired, they only interview two or three freelancers. 

Community Guru
Aleksandra K Member Since: Mar 31, 2015
4 of 26

George is right, if you don’t get a response within 24 hours from the time you’ve applied don’t get your hopes up. I wouldn’t suggest you withdraw the application just forget you've ever applied Smiley Very Happy

Community Guru
Ela K Member Since: Feb 9, 2015
5 of 26