Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Closing an unpaid contract?

lisawerk
Community Guru
Lisa W Member Since: Nov 14, 2015
1 of 3

I'm sure this information is somewhere, but I couldn't find it and was hoping for a quick answer from the forum. My first job on Upwork was a very low paying, simple writing job. I've completed multiple projects successfully for this client over the last several months and have always gotten good feedback. I realized last month that while the job says "$xxxx" next to it, the amount wasn't funded (my mistake completely, I was a newbie and didn't pay close enough attention.)

Despite that, the client has always paid the agreed amount for each project. At this point, I would like to close the contract because it's just not worth my time and effort to get paid $6 for 3 hours of work when I'm getting paid far more on other projects that are actually funded up front or paid hourly. The problem is that last week I turned down what would have been a major project for them (at the same low rate) and was honest that while I enjoyed working for them, I wouldn't be able to do complex projects any more but may be willing to do a one-off once in awhile if I had the time. No response. I also haven't been paid for the 3 projects I completed in the last month, and am waiting to hear back from the client on those. I also requested that the contract be closed and thanked him for the opportunity, since he was the first person to hire me here.