🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Contacted outside of Upwork
Page options
taramcg
Community Member

Contacted outside of Upwork

I am a freelancer who recently responded to a job post with a proposal. The job post-er did a search on me and contacted me outside of Upwork on my private web site. Do I withdraw my proposal? How do they even know my name from my proposal - does Upwork provide them my name? 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "The job post-er did a search on me and contacted me outside of Upwork on my private web site."

This is a violation of Upwork TOS. And it is rude.

However: if a client did this, after I applied to their job, I would probably let it slide and not report it or say anything to them if they hired me through Upwork.

It is possible that they were not trying to do anything wrong, but they just did not know any better.

If they insisted on offering to hire me without using an official Upwork contract, then I would report them.

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
prestonhunter
Community Member

When you submit a job proposal, the clients can see your name.

It is inappropriate and a violation for Upwork users to contact other users through non-Upwork methods when they have not been explicitly provided with the contract information to do so.

Yes, thanks. That's why I am asking if I should withdraw my proposal? Thanks for any guidance.

taramcg
Community Member

...Meaning, I am aware of the regulations and terms of agreement. But now that he has breached them, shall I withdraw my proposal (not so that I can work with him, but because rules were broken).

Hi Tara,

Could you please send me a private message with more information on this along with the job post you are referring to so that I can check?

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork

re: "The job post-er did a search on me and contacted me outside of Upwork on my private web site."