🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Contract cancellation
Page options
f22f5c82
Community Member

Contract cancellation

I had accepted a job contract from a customer and after additional evaluation, I came to conlusion that the job is impossible to do for the reasons not related to my skills but because the client asked for an impossible task(It conradicts the rules of the website where I'm supposed to publish the job and the client is aware of it.  can detail in PM). Can I cancel th job (and I'm not going to charge anything, of course) without consequences for my feedback and reviews. I'm a rather new freelancer and I'm afraid the client can retaliate and harm my success rate. I accepted it only 3 days ago. 

5 REPLIES 5
lysis10
Community Member

It'll hit your jss in a negative way. Just gotta suck it up I guess for 6 months when it drops off.

A zero-pay contract is a zero-pay contract.

The impact is the same whether you cancelled because the project is impossible or you cancelled because you decided to binge-watch "Friends" on Netflix.

8f30256c
Community Member

I canceled a job because a client wanted me to work without logging time. Still took a hit in my ratings. You gotta be really careful whom you take on... especially at the beginning.

Consider looking through their profiles to see how they've treated other people before you.

If you're their first client... be afraid.

If they don't have payment verified, be afraid (hourly protection won't apply).

If their requirements don't make sense, be afraid.

That is what I've learned.

kat303
Community Member

Vyacheslav B wrote: