Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Country of residence for Digital Nomads

pdukatz
Ace Contributor
Philipp C D Member Since: Oct 28, 2015
1 of 62

Upwork has changed their fees for Europeans, adding VAT now. 

When I signed up, I was a resident of Germany. In the meantime, I transitioned into being a Digital Nomad. I unregistered in Germany and I am now a so called perpetual traveler, switching location every three months.

Two things:

1. How am I even supposed to switch my location here if I can't really prove it with an updated ID or something like that?

2. I don't see why I should pay VAT if I am not even an EU-resident anymore. 

I strongly urge Upwork to give advice as they always seemed to promote the Digital Nomad development and now they seem to make it so much harder. Please advise immediately.

Philipp

laherz
Community Leader
Michael Z Member Since: Jul 19, 2015
2 of 62

Honestly, right now it's all a big mess. I would suggest you contact support and wait it out a little. Unfortunately, you'll have to wait. I hope that in the next couple of days/weeks, things become a bit more clear. Because as it stands right now, the thread at: 

https://community.upwork.com/t5/Announcements/VAT-for-EU-freelancers-amp-agencies/td-p/130320/page/5

is full of confusion. I understand that for someone who does not have a "permanent" resident it must be a lot harder with changes like this. 

kochubei_valeria
Community Manager
Valeria K Community Manager Member Since: Mar 6, 2014
3 of 62

Hi Philipp,

Please make sure you have an appropriate visa type or permit to work in a country you are situated in and pay taxes accordingly. You may need to consult with a legal advisor about it.

~ Valeria
Upwork
pdukatz
Ace Contributor
4 of 62

You haven't understood the concept of being a digital nomad. We are constantly traveling, not staying put in any country for longer than 3-6 months. Hence there won't be a valid work visa.