cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Credits

Community Leader
Colyn E Member Since: Sep 23, 2015
1 of 17

I think freelancers should get more credits - a lot more credits, actually. 60-70 credits a month might be enough for an elite few to find gigs, but for me, I need to apply to much more.

I think about 150-200 credits for the basic plan might suffice. You might think, "whoa, that's way too much," but that's just what it takes to get regular work - which would benefit Upwork too because I'd be bringing in revenue for them.

I know people are probably going to speculate that my proposals simply aren't good enough, I'm not skilled enough or my portfolio is weak. In response, I would point out that not only do I spend a great deal of time and effort on constantly improving those things, but I also have a great track record with all of my clients. I have been freelancing for almost two years now and have had barely any complaints (just a few early on, none in the recent past).

So I think that my problem is that I'm just not connecting with enough prospects. I follow up on a lot of proposals and see that many of them don't make a single hire. I need to connect with the clients that will eventually hire, and to be honest those are few and far between as far as I can tell.

Upwork seems to be making a lot of very strange adjustments, and seems to expend a lot of energy in non-productive ways. For example, they promote a lot of jobs (over email and with this new and somewhat pointless 'Interesting Job' filter that interrupts my job searches) that pay next to nothing, are several days old and were posted by clients with a very low hire rate. These posts probably won't result in a contract, let alone a lucrative one. I have no idea why they are being promoted. This is wasted effort on Upwork's behalf.