🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Criminal Background Check?
Page options
3bc53a90
Community Member

Criminal Background Check?

I've posted a number of times recently about possible red flag clients (after getting burned once) and I appreciate all those that have been responding and helping me try to avoid accepting a contract that could turn ugly. 

After about a half an hour interview yesterday, a potential client messaged today that he would like to move forward with an hourly contract with me, after I complete a criminal background check.  This client does not have a history on Upwork but his payment method is verified.  Based on our conversation, he seemed legit but I'm not really loving the fact that we went through a half hour interview in which he never mentioned he would require a background check.  I'm an accountant so it's not entirely unusual that a client would want to make sure I don't have any financial crimes on my record, but this isn't likely a long term job, just a few weeks of financial review and consulations on accounting best practices.  Although, part of the job would require me to review financial records, I would never have access to his banking as part of this contract.  I also have to provide my email address to get the background check link emailed to me and I'm worried about violating the TOS.  What would you do?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
celgins
Community Member

Nope -- I wouldn't do it.

Throughout my career, I have been subjected to a multitude of background checks due to my clientele's work environments, and background investigations almost always involve the disclosure of a considerable amount of personal information (e.g., credit history, previous addresses, work history, relationships, and many others) depending on the type of investigation performed. Even if the client doesn't need some of this background information, they might still have access to it.