🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Dealing with Low Budget Clients
Page options
a6d9d3ed
Community Member

Dealing with Low Budget Clients

Hi everyone, I wish you all are doing great. I now have a little bit of grip on my English but not enough so please forgive any mistakes.

I'm thankful to this upwork community and have no words to show respect for those who are solving problems here.

I have a client, very humble and kind. I love working with such clients but her rates are very low. I'm not very good at saying "No" to such nice clients. We have a very complex relationship. We talk like friends but have a very complex friendly relationship. I don't know how to say "No" to her. Can you help me out?
May be some suggestions. I sometimes do work on a very low budget if clients are good. Same case here but now I need money so I want you to guide me if you can.

Thank you for reading this post. Waiting for your response badly. I have not replied to her yet. Thanks again. Love you guys.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

The client is using one of the most "insidious" secret tricks in business: being a genuinely nice person who you LIKE working for.

There is no rule against clients doing this. The client may not even be doing it on purpose. But it works!

I imagine that this is one of the unspoken secrets of freelancing... and I bet if you talked to most successful freelancers... they would admit to having some clients who are able to get preferential treatment when it comes to scheduling, contract arrangements and even rates, because the freelancers like them.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Abdullah A wrote:

Hi everyone, I wish you all are doing great. I now have a little bit of grip on my English but not enough so please forgive any mistakes.

I'm thankful to this upwork community and have no words to show respect for those who are solving problems here.