cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dealing with a Client Who Turned Out To Be a Farmer

Highlighted
Bradshaw S Member Since: Feb 10, 2019
1 of 16

So i'm relatively new to Upwork, but have gotten 5 star feedback on all 7 jobs I've had. Being new I mistakenly took a bad client who turned out to be a farmer. I should have checked before, but I see now his feedback is all terrible from freelancers and over his last 10 jobs, even when he says they did a good job he'll give them 2-3 stars...

I should've just declined as soon as he tried negotiating on price but now I'm stuck. He requested 300 words for a radio ad which I delivered and then he said how it was way too long and it needs to be within 30 seconds... I do offer one free revision so I gave him a shorter 30 second version, which he said he did not like and he's hiring someone else for it. I'm not going to give him a refund because he'll leave bad feedback anyways and based on his feedback it looks like he's really hurting a lot of freelancers.

So my question is this- is being a bad client, leaving poor feedback for freelancers, and acting as a farmer allowed on Upwork. My job success score will be destroyed by this since I've only done 7 jobs and I most likely will not be able to get jobs after this, but if there's a way for Upwork to stop clients like this from harming and scamming others after me I think it should be reportable.

Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
2 of 16
Bradshaw, sometimes they exclude feedback from clients with a history of giving low feedback in calculating JSS so let’s hope that happens for you.
BEST ANSWER
3 of 16

You'll be fine. It sucks short term but will not stop you getting jobs. Because you have only few jobs it won't take many to get back to over 90% even if that client leaves poor feedback.