Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Desktop app Mac ver login error "Unknown error has occurred" !

Highlighted
Active Member
Eslam K Member Since: Mar 28, 2016
1 of 68

Hello,

I'm having signnig  in problem for like 2 days now on my IMac and gives " "Unknown error has occurred" error!
i was having the same problem with windows but after updating to the latest the problem solved but remains in OSX.

Things i've tried but ended with fail results:
- Installed latest stable and beta ( seperatly each one at atime ) .
- Tried other connections .
- Removed any installed upwork apps then restarted and installed again .
- Checked firewalls .

Here is a screen shot with terminal and using " uuuuuu " as username , it gives the same error on any input value !

Thank you .

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

Highlighted
Moderator
Aleksandar D Moderator Member Since: Mar 23, 2019
2 of 68

Hi Eslam,


I'm sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you. I shared your issue with the rest of our team and one of our agents will reach out to you directly via a support ticket to assist you further.

 

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Eslam K Member Since: Mar 28, 2016
BEST ANSWER
3 of 68

Steps suggetsed by Upwork support team that worked and solved the problem :

1.) Please exit the Upwork Desktop App from your system/device.
2.) Open the terminal app
3.) Then run this command> mv ~/Library/Application\ Support/Upwork{,.bak}
4) Then start again 

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Active Member
Ayush P Member Since: Feb 18, 2018
4 of 68

Not working! 

It says "No such file or directory'

Highlighted
Moderator
Avery O Moderator Member Since: Nov 23, 2015
5 of 68

Hi Ayush, 

A member of the Customer Support Team will reach out to you to assist you further. 


-Avery
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Lucricio A Member Since: Apr 22, 2020
6 of 68

Hi there, i am having a hard time to log in my account using the desktop application. I an using MAC. I did all the instructions online but stil it doesn't work.

 

Please help me. Thank you.

Highlighted
Moderator
Bojan S Moderator Member Since: Mar 9, 2018
7 of 68

Hi Lucricio,

 

Could you please share more information about the issue you're experiencing so that we can assist you accordingly?

 

Thank you!


~ Bojan
Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Catherine M Member Since: Sep 20, 2017
8 of 68

Good morning!

I followed every detail of the instruction you recently sent(see attached) Sad to say still not working. Same error.

Highlighted
Moderator
Goran V Moderator Member Since: Mar 24, 2017
9 of 68

Hi Catherine,

 

Our team has already reached out to you via ticket to assist you further. You can access your tickets on this Link. Thank you.


Untitled
Highlighted
Active Member
Wynand C Member Since: May 12, 2020
10 of 68

Hi Avery,

 

I have experienced a rather frustrating login issue with my desktop app as well. 

I have tried to run different commands via the terminal on my MacBook. I have also installed various versions of the software and removed all mentions of it on my computer. 

 

In addition to that, I have deleted my anti-virus software and checked my firewall settings. I've cleared the cache and I have restarted my computer after each action. 

 

I still end up with a system message (screenshot attached).

 

I've also contacted your support team, but have not heard from them yet. 

 

Today, I was unable to deliver work to my client or log any time for it - and I am in real mess because of this. 

 

Kindly advise on what I can do to sort this out.

 

Regards,

Wynand

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS