Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Did I Take the Right Decision?

tlsanders
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
21 of 36

@husain A wrote:

Again, If you were a native Arab, you would be able to tell how poorly written that article was. I had known that all along, but kept it anyway. When Petra reminded me, I took a look and remembered right away—it was terrible. I absolutely agree with you: I'm not a native English speaker. I haven't set my English level to native nor have I planned to promise something to a client just to underdeliver. I will always make sure native (and nonnative) clients get their expectations straight. I will probably take such measures when things get a little bit more serious, a little bit more professional. I am, after all, an entry-level translator, right? Besides nonnatives don't typically have such standards, do they. Nevertheless, you needn't worry; I have done my homework and have some idea what I'm doing.

I'm not a professional translator, but I'm pretty sure the English translation of this is "I understand that I am not qualified to translate into English, but have decided to do so anyway. Please don't concern yourself."

husainaa
Community Leader
Husain A Member Since: Sep 26, 2017
22 of 36

@Tiffany S wrote:

I'm not a professional translator, but I'm pretty sure the English translation of this is "I understand that I am not qualified to translate into English, but have decided to do so anyway. Please don't concern yourself."

Not at all. I was referring to the source text. You really have no idea, and I'm not in the mood to explain myself, just take my word for it.

tlsanders
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
23 of 36

@husain A wrote:

@Tiffany S wrote:

Not at all. I was referring to the source text. You really have no idea, and I'm not in the mood to explain myself, just take my word for it.