andrewm_

Different categories

I am new to Upwork.  I want to register on different categories: in Data Analysis (python programming) _and_ Translation. Yes, they are very different categories and I am allowed to select only one in my profile during registration.

If I want to have them both, should I create a separate account for each specialization or would it be possible to add another category after registration?  In the latter case does it matter which category I select to be the first ("leading"?) during registration??

A

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Andrew, Nichola already provided excellent advice. Never create additional accounts on Upwork for any reason. They work hard to detect that and terminate accounts of anyone who does that.

It is easy to set up multiple job skills after your account is set up. You definitely don't need multiple accounts for that.

My advice: You will make more money if you just leave off the translation stuff from your profile. Focus on Python and programming. Translation is extremely over-saturated, competitive and doesn't pay well compared to programming. Unless you are willing to be totally dedicated to translating you will not be among the top in your field and you will not make decent money doing it.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
colettelewis

You should be able to add the categories once your profile has been approved.

You are only allowed one user account. Have a look here:

https://support.upwork.com/entries/23065871

And here for categories:

https://support.upwork.com/entries/23105036

And read all the other help pages too, particularly Upwork's Terms of Service. 😉

Andrew, Nichola already provided excellent advice. Never create additional accounts on Upwork for any reason. They work hard to detect that and terminate accounts of anyone who does that.

It is easy to set up multiple job skills after your account is set up. You definitely don't need multiple accounts for that.