cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difficult client; also inappropriate (?)

Highlighted
Angie C Member Since: Jan 7, 2019
1 of 24

I'm working on a fixed-price booklet; the listing implied a length of 10 pages and it's actually 34 - a predetermined length as it's basically a re-creation. I acknowledged that I failed to ask the total length of the booklet (I've been a designer for 15+ years; I know better) but suggested the client suggest a more proportionate price. Though the client ultimately agreed, he first suggested that **Edited for Community Guidelines**

Ugh.

In addition, the client's supplied assets piecemeal over 5 weeks now, continues to delay supplying me with the last few assets and I'm a little concerned about the potential feedback, as he keeps saying he's sent me the missing assets which is incorrect. 

My goal is to wrap this up ASAP.  Once (if?) this happens, should bother writing a truthful (but 100% professional) client review?  If he should give me a bad review, might the Upwork team consider the source (and the inappropriate comment) in deciding whether to let it remain on my profile?

Thanks all!

Highlighted
Community Guru
Virginia F Member Since: Feb 15, 2016
2 of 24

@Angie C wrote:

I'm working on a fixed-price booklet; the listing implied a length of 10 pages and it's actually 34 - a predetermined length as it's basically a re-creation. I acknowledged that I failed to ask the total length of the booklet (I've been a designer for 15+ years; I know better) but suggested the client suggest a more proportionate price. Though the client ultimately agreed, he first suggested that "Maybe we can do another contract later after this one so it’s worth it for you , or you can come up to Montery and I can show you a good time."

Ugh.