Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

Disabling screenshots

Highlighted
Active Member
Susan H Member Since: Sep 1, 2017
71 of 75

Very intrusive, first time I've had to use it and mid closing a document it has screenshot and sent my whole desktop to a client, which fortunately didn't have anything confidential on it but it's not really the point. By the way, the screenshot was after 2 minutes! not 10

Highlighted
Community Guru
Varun G Member Since: Dec 11, 2019
72 of 75

Susan H wrote:

Very intrusive, first time I've had to use it and mid closing a document it has screenshot and sent my whole desktop to a client, which fortunately didn't have anything confidential on it but it's not really the point. By the way, the screenshot was after 2 minutes! not 10


A screenshot is taken at a random point in time during each 10-minute interval. Therefore, expect the first screenshot to be taken at any point within the first 10 minutes of your work commencing.

Moreover, if you're logging time (ie. claiming that you're working), there should be nothing that's unrelated to work on your screen anyway. I don't see how that's intrusive at all. If anything, it should be a testament to your diligence as a freelancer, and should encourage your client(s) to extend contracts with you.

Highlighted
Active Member
Vincent H Member Since: Mar 7, 2020
73 of 75

Surely this is in breach of Privacy laws?

It's certainly not acceptable to me.

I just learned about this 10 minute screen grab thing, came here to see if it's a real thing because I was shocked!

I'm definitely cancelling my account, if possible, and never working with Upwork!

Highlighted
Moderator
Aleksandar D Moderator Member Since: Mar 23, 2019
74 of 75

Hi Vincent,

 

When you have logging turned on, the app takes random screen captures six times per hour—once per 10-minute billing segment. Anything visible on your screen will display in your Work Diary, but you have the option, in Settings, to choose whether the screen captures your entire desktop or only the active screen. You can also choose whether you want to be notified each time a screen capture is taken. By default, notifications are on and you’ll have the option to delete the screen capture before upload if you’d like to. You can check out this help article for more information.

Additionally, feel free to check out this help article for more information on how you can close your account.

 

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Untitled
Highlighted
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
75 of 75

Vincent H wrote:

 

I just learned about this 10 minute screen grab thing, came here to see if it's a real thing because I was shocked!

I'm definitely cancelling my account, if possible, and never working with Upwork!


Why would you want to delete your profile over this? Just work fixed price contracts only and be done with it. That's a complete overreaction.

 

The app is only for hourly contracts and even then you can use manual time unless the client disables it. (No hourly protection with manual time, though.)

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS
TOP KUDOED MEMBERS