cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discouraged about pay rates

saraelder
Sara E Member Since: Jul 25, 2014
1 of 25
Hi. I'm looking for helpful hints/suggestions on how other US freelancers actually make money on here. I am new to oDesk, and I've spent so much time getting my profile ready, taking tests, and preparing a portfolio only to find that when I start looking for jobs to apply to the pay rates are ridiculously low! I've searched for about a week now and I've read other posts on here with people having the same problems. I understand why the rates are so low- with so many people bidding on here from different countries. I even tried looking for US jobs only, and it is crazy what some employers think a US contractor will work for. Why would I take a job for less than a $1 on here when federal minimum wage is $7.25! My point is not just to vent (although it does feel good), but to ask what other US freelancers do to make money. Do you just scour the posts until you see one that you feel you can apply to? Do you post on other sites like GURU? I've heard of it but haven't checked it out yet. Do you have to supplement your income outside of sites like this in another way? If so, how? It seems that no matter what field I look into, I see the same recurring theme where employers are used to getting MUCH LESS for jobs than they should, or the ones who are willing to pay decently have 100+ applicants with more experience than me. I appreciate any insight and help! Thank you!
cameronjoseph
Community Guru
Joseph C Member Since: Nov 5, 2011
2 of 25
What you have listed as jobs you are capable of are some of the lowest paying jobs on oDesk. Web design is good, but you really have no support in your portfolio for that. Just what appear to be personal pages and those two are not from scratch, but pick n choose type. Nothing there to say you can design web sites. Even CMS site builds can be and will be highly customized.
lanwanman
Community Guru