🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Dispute assistant violated official Upwro...
Page options
vadym_burla
Community Member

Dispute assistant violated official Upwrok policy

Hi, I'm a freelancer and in the middle of a dispute with a client. All the ado is about $120.
I strongly believe that the dispute assistant violated Upwork policy Section 6.1 Paragraph 4. Lack of Participation Lack of Participation: Client and Freelancer must respond to the Notice of Escrow Dispute within 5 calendar days. If one party does not timely respond to the Notice of Escrow Dispute, Client and Freelancer agree that the lack of timely response acts as an irrevocable authorization and instruction to Upwork Escrow to release the funds in Escrow from the non-responding party to the responding party.
     It can be found on the official Upwrok page here: https://www.upwork.com/legal#fp
     To cut it short in my case when the client failed to reply to the group discussion within 5 Calendar days (as specified in the policy), the agent violated the policy and gave the client two additional days to reply. If she hadn't done that I would have been automatically transferred the amount ($120) the disputed was created around. Now upwork dispute agent is going to pass this dispute to Arbitration. Btw in that case me, my client and upwrok will be asked to pay a mandatory fee -  $291 EACH for the service of the Arbitration. Funny thing is that even if me and the client refuse to pay the fee the money in escrow will automatically be refunded to the client and I'll be left with nothing but wasted time, now how is that fair UPWORK???

Question: Is there any way how I can escalate this issue to the upper management as I think that is an outrageous attitute towards a freelancer?!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Vadym B wrote: