🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Dispute relating to client asking me to use a...
Page options
barrie-davies
Community Member

Dispute relating to client asking me to use a specific tool

Hi, I recently picked up a piece of work, which specified to deliver 1 hour of voice recording for the gig. The client specified an app to be used to complete this. Normally I would use my own equipment. 4 hours later of trying to get this very poor quality app to work, the client told me that the work was not good enough as the volume was low, there were issues with the app etc. They are refusing to pay me on the grounds that I did not deliver 1hr of usable voice data. Foolishly, I agreed on Whatsapp and they had access to the data on the app, which I recorded. They have taken the voice data from that app.... Not a great experience!

What recourse do I have here? It is only for a small amount. and I am new to Upwork. I am concerned that if I push this, even if they pay me, they may give me a very bad review. 

Any advice, warmly received 🙂

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6
tlbp
Community Member

What do you mean "you agreed on WhatsApp" Did you agree that the work was not done properly or something else? 

Sorry, that was a typo. I agreed to chat to them on WhatsApp and bot in the Upwork chat room
lysis10
Community Member

Barrie D wrote:

Hi, I recently picked up a piece of work, which specified to deliver 1 hour of voice recording for the gig. The client specified an app to be used to complete this. Normally I would use my own equipment. 4 hours later of trying to get this very poor quality app to work, the client told me that the work was not good enough as the volume was low, there were issues with the app etc. They are refusing to pay me on the grounds that I did not deliver 1hr of usable voice data. Foolishly, I agreed on Whatsapp and they had access to the data on the app, which I recorded. They have taken the voice data from that app.... Not a great experience!