🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Dissatisfied with clients
Page options
madbanditroy
Community Member

Dissatisfied with clients

I've been kind in a rut lately, dealing with clients who don't know exactly what they want and/or being flakey with payment (not paying whole amount). I want to charge more to get a better cliente, but it looks weird, having an 88% JSS. There's a part of me that wants to quit, but I'm not good at anything else. So, I'm stuck. Any advice?
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
melaniekhenson
Community Member

Nah. I bumped my rate by $20 when my JSS was in the 80s. I continued to get work and my JSS continued to go up. Particularly based in NY, a $5 hourly rate seems to indicate really, really low-quality work and desperation levels, and you know that's not the case. I think you should just try bumping your rate and then see how it goes.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
robin_hyman
Community Member

Hey Leroy,

When you're working with clients willing to pay $5 an hour, you'll get stuck with clients who aren't satisfied and who don't want to pay.  Start applying for jobs with slightly higher hourly rates/fixed project rates and go above and beyond for those clients to get 5 star ratings.  "Above and beyond" = be extremely responsive, offer suggestions improving project outcome, turn around work before deadline.  

Make sure your profile stands out.  You're a writer so sound exciting.  Like everyone should want to work with you (without being too cocky).  You're in an extremely competitive space (I'm a marketing copywriter) and there are only so many suitable jobs out there.  

Good luck!
Robin

Leroy,

I can only echo everything that Robin outlined.

These UW waters that we're all fishing in are particularly rough lately, and the fish just ain't bitin'!

Ride it out or reel it in and cut bait.

Best from Bk.