🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Does it reflect badly on my profile if I ...
Page options
barman-elizabeth
Community Member

Does it reflect badly on my profile if I quit a contract?

Hi all - I'm brand new to UpWork & am working on my 1st contract. The client didn't realize how big the project was going to be when I agreed to it & it is WAAAAY bigger than anticipated (I'm one of several people working on it) & will take a HUGE amount of time to finish. Since I'm so new on here, I'm not sure what/if might reflect negatively on my profile if I quit a contract before it's finished. I've actually been given the option to do that by the client, so I know they wouldn't give me a poor review, but I don't know if there's anything other than the potential for a client to leave a bad review (which like I said, graciously wouldn't happen in this situation) that would show up on my profile for any future clients. Can anyone give me any input on this? Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8
petra_r
Community Member

Has anything been paid? Will something be paid?

I have received partial payment.....

kat303
Community Member

If you quit a project and don't get paid for it, that will reflect negatively on your JSS. Also, if I'm correct, if you quit a project and there's funds in escrow, that will be returned to the client. 

Is there funds in escrow? And if so you will need to work out with your client on how much you should get paid for the work you did.  Again a closed contract with no earnings affects your JSS.

If there's funds in escrow and you've been paid for the work you've done already, and the CLIENT closes the contract you have No way of knowing what review and feedback you'll receive (no matter what the client might tell you or promise you.)  There's public feedback, and because it's public the client may give you a good review, but there's also Private feedback, Because it's private and no one gets to see it, the client may do an about face and give you a negative feedback.