🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Does it sound right if an NDP a client asked ...
Page options
shekay
Community Member

Does it sound right if an NDP a client asked to sign will be binding for 3 years?

I'm a designer, for garment and print. I worked at some multinational corporation before I was a freelancer. The NDP I have signed with those company usually bind during the time I work there and extend up to 1 year if I quit the company. After my first chat with my new potential client, he wanted me to sign an NDP before telling me what I need to do and the NDP will bind up to 3 years. I am not sure if I should sign ahead of me knowing what the contact is about. Could anyone advise? Thanks. I have attached the NDP for reference.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

I will sign an NDA that is binding for a thousand years.

NDA is short for "Non-Disclosure Agreement."

A normal NDA means that I will not talk about the client's information to anybody else.

I'm like a priest or doctor or therapist. I do this for ALL of my clients, whether I sign an NDA or not.

If I client/prospective cilent asks me to sign an NDA, I read it and make sure there is nothing goofy in it, and then I sign it. This is common, and NOT a big deal.

Note that the document you attached is titled "NDA" in big bold letters, right at the top, with the sub-headline: "Confidentiality Agreement."

The document is a normal NDA. It is pure boiler plate. Nothing to worry about.

Think to yourself: "Will there ever come a time where I want to tell this client's secrets to somebody outside of the company?"

If the answer is no, then go ahead and sign.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

I will sign an NDA that is binding for a thousand years.

NDA is short for "Non-Disclosure Agreement."

A normal NDA means that I will not talk about the client's information to anybody else.