cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does location affect pay?

Simeon T Member Since: Jun 24, 2015
1 of 7

Hi Upworkers,

I'm a very experienced writer and editor but new to Upwork. I'm British-American but am now based in Peru. I was just wondering whether my location might negatively influence clients' expectations about what they should be paying me, ie might some expect to be able to pay me less because I am not based in the US or Europe? Any feedback greatly appreciated!

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 7
Location can't dictate how much you're willing to accept as payment.

If you present yourself as a top professional in your job applications and profile, most clients won't give your location a second thought.

Some will. But most won't care.

Remember: clients don't care about your life story. They care about what you can do for them and their business.
Community Guru
Stephen B Member Since: Dec 4, 2012
3 of 7

Br professional and assertive in your applications, and explain but don't apologise for the discrepancy in your location and your professional ability.

Community Guru
Nikhil D Member Since: May 28, 2015
4 of 7

Hi Simeon,

First off, Welcome to Upwork!!

I don't have to tell you that, "if you got the special talent/ skills, you can command top dollar". Location never dictates the pricing of the contract. You have already made it clear that you are a British-American and also that you are an experienced writer and editor. You've got all the right things going for you, all you need to do is to showcase your talent, in the form of a portfolio on your profile or you can send some feelers out in the way of customized cover letters for select job posts.

There are jobs/ clients who are willing to spend that extra buck for top notch quality. Those would be your target audience. Make them standup and take notice by writing up a good Overview/ job profile.

All the very Best to you!