cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Don't find benefits being a Top Rated freelancer

manickam_12
Manickam S Member Since: Feb 5, 2015
1 of 11

I am a Top rated Freelancer. I apply for many jobs.But why no clients reply  ? Do they see that i am top rated or not ? Does upwork recommend me to various clients. what's the benefit of being a top rated freelancer i don't understand?

boshoffirene
Community Guru
Irene B Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
2 of 11

This is what I have telling people who worry about their JSS so, so, much. There ARE no benefits except the green badge that says...hey, this guy/gal delivers great work.

The thing is, many people see Upwork as fulfilling the role of employer. They are not, and they do not. I am my OWN employer/chief cook/bottle washer/slavedriver/slave. Not Upwork. 

Upwork owes me nothing. I PAY for a service they provide - a place to find clients. They add a few benefits for my buck, i.e. they take care of billing, see about client payment methods, etc. I am more than willing to pay them to do so for me. If they did not, and if I did not have a forum such as this, I would spend a lot of my time (which I would rather spend making money or hanging out with the family) doing so myself...or paying someone else to do so for me. I'd rather not have to pay someone else, as that would mean I am an employer. I do not want to be an employer. I do not want to have to work out a pay docket for someone else. Just doing my taxes is enough paperwork as far as I am concerned.

manickam_12
3 of 11

I hope few perks (Red Text) are not applied.

As a Top Rated freelancer or agency, you’ll receive:

• A badge on your Upwork freelancer profile
  • Personalized tips to strengthen your profile
  • Premium customer support, including phone and chat
  • Exclusive invitations to submit proposals
  • An exclusive Job Digest email to make it easier for you to find attractive opportunities