๐Ÿˆ
ยป Forums ยป Freelancers ยป ๐Ÿค” Don't you hate closing contracts quickly a...
Page options
hidemi-takagi
Community Member

๐Ÿค” Don't you hate closing contracts quickly after a project is done?

I am wondering if other freelancers feel as I do in regards to Upwork strong push to quickly close contracts after a project is done.

what do you think.jpg

I am a top-rated freelancer with hundreds of feedbacks and (up to 2 weeks ago) 100% JSS and was demoted lately to 96% due to some contracts that have been sitting idle for quite some time. 

Regardless of how the project ends, sometimes it is actually very comfortable to leave a project idle for a few months to let the client have an option to add a milestone if any issue comes up. More than that, "demanding" or even "suggesting firmly" a quick closure of the contract at the moment the project reached its final milestone honestly feel a bit strange, and even after a few months, it sometimes feels like "I want to cut the cord" with the client just to stay with Upwork policy of closing contracts as soon as possible or my JSS will turn ugly pretty quickly.

I mean, there are so many reasons why its good that a contract is sitting idle, and none of them has anything to do with lowering your JSS score as far as I can see it.

1.  A client "got what they want" and don't really care anymore about closing a contract

2. A project ended but the client is now "feel secure" when the contract is not closed and at any time they can go back to the chat and get new things done or fixed

3. An idle contract is also an opportunity for a new milestone at a certain time in the future as not all projects really NEED TO END, and some projects have a very good chance to get a new milestone 6 months along the road when certain elements in the project need renewals or update.