🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Double Rating System - Public and Private
Page options
tamarian
Community Member

Double Rating System - Public and Private

Hello Upwork community,

I am a freelancer working on Upwork for about 4 years now. During this time I learned a lot about how the platform works and I witnessed a few changes on how the system works. These changes were designed to bring advantages to one or more parties using the system: Upwork as a company, the clients or the freelancers. It is not my intention to debate upon any of the recent changes, but I want to talk about the Double Rating System.

As we all know, the clients and the freelancers alike are able to give 2 kinds of feedback: public and private. Please help me understand what advantages this system brings and for whom.

So far I find this system being deceiving by allowing the hiding of the truth from both parties. 

Compared to a normal rating system  (1 rating - public) I find the following disadvantages:

- it hides the truth from the one who is receiving the feedback, thus hindering a possible evolution (by working on the weak points that would have been visible in the feedback)

- it hides the truth from a potential client/freelancer 

-it allows for deceptive behavior and revenge actions.

So, help me understand what are the advantages of this system. Why is this preferred to a transparent and honest rating system?

Kind regards,

Marian Albu

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

The answer to this is very simple:

Whiny crybabies.

As a client I have hired over 90 freelancers.

Far too many of them, especially if they're from a particular country, turn into whiny crybabies if given anything other than a perfect 5. No matter what their work performance was like. Doesn't matter. They will hound a client to change the score if they see a non-5 score.

Not all clients want to put up with that.

tlsanders
Community Member