Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: EU Cross-Border VAT and Non-VAT Registered Freelancers

victory_over_all
Jason R Member Since: Jun 21, 2017
1 of 8

Hi Internet!

I'm hoping that someone out there understands the confusing mess of EU Cross-Border VAT and whether working through Upwork can help alleviate that confusion!

Let me explain my situation... I'm a freelance graphic designer originally from the UK, moved to France in December and soon after was registered as self employed (got my SIRET number) but I am not VAT registered, and do not wish to be until the day I'm earning enough to hit the VAT threshold. I work with most clients through Upwork, but sometimes I get approached directly, and I was recently contacted by a potential client from Sweden who wanted to work with me. They quickly wanted to know if I was VAT registered, and when I said I was not, they started telling me how this is not normal, that they would have to pay unnecessary VAT on top of my fee which they cannot reclaim, and that I will struggle to find other EU companies willing to work with me if I'm not VAT registered.

As far as I understand, the current EU Cross-Border VAT rules goes something like this:
When selling a service to other EU businesses, a VAT registered business would not charge VAT because the place of taxation is the country the service is supplied to (in this case Sweden) and they just have to note on the invoice that VAT is being accounted for using the reverse charge mechanism. The client receiving the service has to account for the VAT as if they sold the service themselves at the rate of VAT in their country (under “Services” and “Buying” herebut they should then be able to recover that same amount back as input tax, meaning the tax they pay and the tax they reclaim completely offset each other.