🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: *Edited* - I've been scammed
Page options
lernice-parker
Community Member

*Edited* - I've been scammed

I am relatively new to Upwork and received a project from the above asking me to convert and type a document from PDF to Word. Being desperate for money, I quickly said yes and typed out a 100 page document for these fools only to get to the end and complete it within their timeframe for them to ask me for $100 afterwards.

When I mentioned I don't have the money, the person I was speaking to started getting aggravated and angry. Blocked me now on Telegram. 

How do I report this to Upwork?

Will I get paid for this project or is this just a lost cause?

How do I move forward and can I? 

107 REPLIES 107
bobafett999
Community Member

You can't report it to upwork.  You did everything outside of them.  Blame it on yourself and move on.

prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "How do I report this to Upwork?"

Honestly, I would not worry about that. Upwork personnel already know all about this scam and have probably already removed this job post and client.

But the answer to your question is: We can report fraud clients by clicking on "Flag as inappropriate" on the job posting page.

re: "Will I get paid for this project or is this just a lost cause?"

No, you will not get paid for this.

re: "How do I move forward and can I?"

Yes, you can move forward.

You need to accept the fact that what happened was your fault, because you broke the rules and used Upwork incorrectly. Once you accept that, you will gain power.

YOU have the power to change how things work out in the future.

What is the right way to get a work from upwork?are they going to contact.me on the upwork not outside of it like email and telegram?

Hi Kalkidan,

Please note that sharing contact info prior to a contract starting is against ToS and one of the most common scams is when the client wants to take your conversation to Telegram.