🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: *Edited* - I've been scammed
Page options
lernice-parker
Community Member

*Edited* - I've been scammed

I am relatively new to Upwork and received a project from the above asking me to convert and type a document from PDF to Word. Being desperate for money, I quickly said yes and typed out a 100 page document for these fools only to get to the end and complete it within their timeframe for them to ask me for $100 afterwards.

When I mentioned I don't have the money, the person I was speaking to started getting aggravated and angry. Blocked me now on Telegram. 

How do I report this to Upwork?

Will I get paid for this project or is this just a lost cause?

How do I move forward and can I? 

108 REPLIES 108
85c5564a
Community Member

I am new uowork and I got this same project of 100 images to convert into images. I have spent my time, labor and completed the project and sumitted. When I have asked for payment, they have asked $150 as linking fee to be linked with their company payment server. I said; i am not afford to pay it. Then they asked me to pay $50... 

2ac7ecf1
Community Member

**Edited for Community Guidelines** it's a new acoount on telegram this scammer, i've been also scamed of **Edited for Community Guidelines**. And so that no one gets caught, I provide screenshots and lists of mailboxes of this scamer
emails  **Edited for Community Guidelines**

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

1ff2d4e7
Community Member

I saw this company's job detail, I summited a proposal, and he gets me a telegram ID, i almost to work for him. So thank you so much!

Jota L wrote:

I saw this company's job detail, I summited a proposal, and he gets me a telegram ID, i almost to work for him. So thank you so much!

For you (you must change the profile photo, what you have is not allowed) and for many of those who have commented here.
I've seen the profiles of quite a few and, well, the "nothing profile" match is overwhelming.