🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » **Edited** Is it scam or not?
Page options
81cbac8b
Community Member

**Edited** Is it scam or not?

Hello, I'm a new freelancer. I found that there is a lot of works/job ads who contain image/email/telegram contact and all of them from global publishing library. The job is about re-type from image to word & save it as a pdf, but they ask us to pay some money first and we will get payment outside upwork (with ridiculous high pay rate too). 

The only thing that I could find about them is this one:

https://community.upwork.com/t5/Freelancers/Telegram-Edited-for-Community-Guidelines/m-p/1156424/hig...

Well, for me, it sounds like a scam, but they have a lot of job ads and I found it ridiculous too, that there was a lot of members who submit their proposal. I know that we will get the connect back if the job is cancelled, but I found it so annoying because they are everywhere & everyday.

But at least, to make a fair pov, please kindly share your experience if you had joined their job offer. Thank you

4 REPLIES 4
the-right-writer
Community Member

This is a scam. Anytime, anyone wants to speak to you, pay you, or do anything with you outside of Upwork before you have a contract is a scam.

Before you are scammed again, you have work to do if you want to be a serious freelancer. First, read and follow the Terms of Service. Then read and follow this excellent advice from Wes.

Because you are new, you are a target for scammers. Read everything you can about how to be a freelancer. Upwork has many articles and videos. Don't forget to use your intuition, gut feeling, etc. If it seems off, if something doesn't feel right, be very cautious. If it sounds too good to be true - it is likely a scam. Protect yourself, because no one, including Upwork, will protect you.