cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Employer requested I worked out of Upwork

ioanaoi
Ioana N Member Since: Jun 2, 2017
1 of 4

Hello, fellow Upworkers. I am new here, so I don't yet know how this all works. 

Today I was contacted by a potential employer and the message read : add this skype id...". I was curious so I did just that. The person on the other line went on to engage in some small talk with me, complimented me on my resume and portfolio and command of the English language and then proposed the terms of the contract. It seemed surreal, so, naturally, something had to give. 

They went on to send me the first assignment, which I completed, fully aware that this may be a scam. I am an experienced writer and it only took me 20 minutes of my time to see what they were about. 

Before sending it in, I requested they hired me on Upwork, becuase I have no guarantee that this is not a scam. I sent in the article, they said they were more than satisfied (??) and that they had no objections other than having exceeded the word limit- which I have done on purpose, to see if they were going to read it- and then proceeded to send me the next assignment. 

I told them I will do it as soon as we finalise the legal forms. After a 30 minute back and forth negociating, they sent me a copy and paste text contract on skype. I told them I will not work with them on these terms, as it is violating the Upwork terms and conditions, and that they should reach me when they want to work on Upwork. Then, I got blocked. 

My questions are:

When an employer's profile displays ''Payment Method Not Verified'', does this mean it is automatically a scam?

Also, how in the world can I get an offer that doesn't change its terms or requests for something else than the job posting?