🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Employer wanted interview on Skype, would...
Page options
gahist123
Community Member

Employer wanted interview on Skype, wouldn't hire on Upwork

I am new to Upwork.  I have submitted about ten proposals over two weeks, and finally received a message from one.  The person asked that I go to a link, which contained instructions to be interviewed on Skype.  I went to Skype, and an interview with a person of a different name was conducted.  When he said I was going to be hired, I asked "Shouldn't this be on Upwork?"  No reply.  I blocked him from contacting me again on Skype, copied all of the chat, the message, and the posting from Upwork.  Now, I can't figure out what to do with the info.  Does Upwork care?

8 REPLIES 8
robin_hyman
Community Member

Clyde David T wrote:

I am new to Upwork.  I have submitted about ten proposals over two weeks, and finally received a message from one.  The person asked that I go to a link, which contained instructions to be interviewed on Skype.  I went to Skype, and an interview with a person of a different name was conducted.  When he said I was going to be hired, I asked "Shouldn't this be on Upwork?"  No reply.  I blocked him from contacting me again on Skype, copied all of the chat, the message, and the posting from Upwork.  Now, I can't figure out what to do with the info.  Does Upwork care?

Hi Clyde,

Welcome to Upwork!  Interviewing off the platform is not a violation.  Being paid off the platform is.  The no reply is not confirmation that the client wanted to pay you off Upwork.  If you wanted to, you can flag the job post which alerts the Upwork team. 

And to answer your question, yes Upwork cares if the client is not abiding by the rules.  Unfortunately the client didn't do anything wrong exactly.  

As a freelancer you can choose who to work with.  Good luck!

re: "Does Upwork care?"