🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Ending an Hourly-based project while giving t...
Page options
great-designs
Community Member

Ending an Hourly-based project while giving the money back

Hi. Unfortunately I set a contract with a very difficult person. I worked for a few hours and he did not like the progress I made in that time.

 

We agreed to cancel the contract and I want to give him the money back (which currently appears as a balance under "Job in Progress", in My Report page).

 

What I want do do is to end the contract without any kind of feedback appearing on my Profile Page. kind of like if this contract would have never existed. How can I do that? And at the same time I want that he gets his money again.

 

I have the feeling that this person will try to ruin my Profile with a horrible feedback (even though I basically agreed to not get paid for a work I actually did). He does not seem like a great guy.

 

Any help will be appreciated.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member


Luis Fernando C wrote:

We agreed to cancel the contract and I want to give him the money back (which currently appears as a balance under "Job in Progress", in My Report page).


You can't "refund" the money as it hasn't been billed yet. Just go to the work diary and delete all the screenshots (time) before (!!) you close the contract. That way nothing is billed and you don't get paid anything, so the contract doesn't appear on your profile.

 

You have to do this before you close the contract, as closing the contract removes your access to the work diary permanently.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
martina_plaschka
Community Member

When you refund the whole amount, nothing will show up on your profile, but the client can still leave bad private feedback. 

Thank you for your answer Martina.

 

Can you please tell what is the right procedure to refund the whole amount?

Luis Fernando C wrote:

Thank you for your answer Martina.

 

Can you please tell what is the right procedure to refund the whole amount?


My jobs> All contracts> Click on the contract name> Click three dots (...) from the menu> Give a refund> Set the amount.

 

Are you aware that the client can still leave poor private feedback after refund that may affect your JSS?

Oh, I was not aware of that. Well, I guess there is nothing I can do at this point about that...

 

Thanks for your answer.

petra_r
Community Member


Luis Fernando C wrote:

We agreed to cancel the contract and I want to give him the money back (which currently appears as a balance under "Job in Progress", in My Report page).


You can't "refund" the money as it hasn't been billed yet. Just go to the work diary and delete all the screenshots (time) before (!!) you close the contract. That way nothing is billed and you don't get paid anything, so the contract doesn't appear on your profile.

 

You have to do this before you close the contract, as closing the contract removes your access to the work diary permanently.

Yes Petra, that is exactly what I did. I went and delete all the tracked time in the Work Diary and then just ended the contract.

 

Thanks for your help.

Latest Articles
Featured Topics
Learning Paths