🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Ethical issue with proposed job
Page options
jenkfreelance
Community Member

Ethical issue with proposed job

Hello,

I am quite new to Upwork and I recently applied for a proofreading job.
The client asked whether I would be willing to do a trial of the editing/proofreading and I agreed.

When the client sent me the file, the topic however was about Cannabis rebranding and I'm not sure this is something I want to be involved in.

On one hand I feel I am not responsible as I am just editing, but then on other hand i’m

not sure if it's a business I want to support.

If it was just about a University essay on Cannabis in general then it would perhaps be fine, but a business commercially selling Cannabis is not something I really support.

I am aware that Americans and Canadians are more ”open” to commercial cannabis than the country where I live, however the client was from Ukraine so I wasn’t really expecting that topic.

Can anybody offer any advice what I should do?

If I don't want to do it how should I diplomatically inform the client?

Also, am I over reacting?

Thankyou

9 REPLIES 9
versailles
Community Member

Your values, your judgment. Nobody can decide for you. One thing, however: no free work. Scamers often always use the word trial to get free work done.

-----------
"Where darkness shines like dazzling light"   —William Ashbless

Thanks Rene.

I'm embarrassed to say that I didn't even consider this as a possibility.

The problem is that I have already agreed to do the trial....

If you haven't submitted, you can still respond you will do the trial for $X.  I assume there isn't a contract yet....

And if you don't have a contract you don't owe this client anything.  You can respond, "I had some time to think about this project and I don't feel I am the right fit.  Thank you for reaching out and I wish you luck"

Thanks Robin. I have taken your advice.

Jenny K wrote:

Thanks Rene.