🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Expert Level Budgets Decreasing
Page options
jorgensons
Community Member

Expert Level Budgets Decreasing

Has anyone else noticed a sharp decline in the budgets for expert-level jobs in recent weeks? I'm a Top-Rated freelancer with 98% JSS and have completed numerous resume writing projects in the $200-300+ range within the last year. It was pretty easy for me to get work at those rates up until a few weeks ago. Around the same time that I began having a harder time winning jobs, I noticed that the "expert" budgets on flat-fee resume projects had dropped significantly -- I'm seeing $30, $50, and $100 when I used to see $150, $250, and more. Yes, there are still some jobs with these higher pay rates, but not nearly as many as before.

I can't help but wonder if this is the result of Upwork now offering clients suggestions about the hourly pay rate for expert/intermediate/entry level work. The "expert" pay level begins at $30/hour (!), and a lot of clients think their resume will only take an hour or two to write. (This is incorrect.) Therefore, doing the math, they probably think that $30 or even $100 is totally reasonable for an expert to do the job. (It's not.) 

I don't know if my experience is unique or if others have noticed a similar trend. I'm curious to hear what everyone else has observed in recent weeks. I'm starting to get really nervous about this new system. I've spent more time writing proposals and engaging with prospective clients in the last month than I have during any other time in the last year or so, and yet I'm winning fewer jobs -- often at a lower price than I'm comfortable with because the rent is still due and I still have to eat... 

19 REPLIES 19
tlsanders
Community Member