🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: FIx priced project, before due date, comp...
Page options
brylle-seraspe
Community Member

FIx priced project, before due date, completed tasks, payment request

Hello,

I'm not really new to Upwork but It's my first time to actually do jobs other than my first full-time job for 4 years. It's my first time doing a fix-priced job.

The contract got originally 2 milestones. The 1st milestone is done way before due date and paid. The 2nd milestone is also done way before due date and is currently in escrow.

Then we agreed on another task which I thought would be in another contract but the client added it as a 3rd milestone. This is also now done way before due date which is currently not in escrow.

It currently shows that the allotted budget is full as agreed. I have submitted request for the 2nd milestone's payment before I worked the 3rd one but he said that he'll fund it when the 3rd milestone is done, which is now done.

And now, we're discussing for another task.

By the way, my estimates for job completion were appropriate but the client had them extended for around 4 days.

What are the odds of my payment security? Should I wait for the due date before asking?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Due dates in fixed-price contracts are not actually used by Upwork for anything. So it really doesn't matter.

If you finish a task, submit it.

But only if it has been funded.

It sounds like you are wondering if submitting early would be a bad thing. Of course not.

The due date does not matter. The budget does not matter. The amount of pay that was promised does not matter.

What matters is how much is funded in escrow.

If you do work for a milestone that has not been funded, Upwork will not help you get that money.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16
prestonhunter
Community Member

Due dates in fixed-price contracts are not actually used by Upwork for anything. So it really doesn't matter.