🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Fee structure of Upwork and client/freela...
Page options
placebofx
Community Member

Fee structure of Upwork and client/freelancer rates

I feel that the 20% fee Upwork charges freelancers is akin to Usury, meaning interest at unreasonable rates. I'm a freelance writer working in a market of competitors who charge next to nothing for an article. My jobs that take 2 days to do pay about $5/hr or less. I don't know how it works. Are clients getting charged nothing and we freelancers are bearing the burden of supporting Upwork? Can someone explain to me the system: are the clients are getting charged something or nothing. If they are getting charged, how do they pay and what is their rate?

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Are clients getting charged nothing and we freelancers are bearing the burden of supporting Upwork?"

A client's credit card is charged.

Upwork doesn't charge my credit card.

I do some work, and a bunch of money goes into my bank account.

That's how it works for me.

When I go to spend all that money... At (for example) a restaurant, they are just happy that I'm paying them for the food they make. They don't care if Upwork's fee was 5% or 10% or 20% or 50%. And they don't care if the fee was paid by the freelancer or the client or somebody's grandmother.

If all the money is actually coming from the client's credit card - then precisely what the percent is and who is paying what is immaterial to me.

mystudiomke
Community Member

Maybe look at it from a different perspective. You noted is unfair because you're competing with those would do the same next to nothing. That's the problem - you're competing with those in the lower range. Up your price, there is little to no competition up here. I tell you this from experience. 

I know I am not answering your question. Just giving you a different perspective.