🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Feeling disillusioned by too many scammer...
Page options
knowthyself72
Community Member

Feeling disillusioned by too many scammers (my experience)

Hello to all,

I hope everyone reading this is doing well and feeling healthy.

My name is Raphael and I'm new to the Upwork platform. Unfortunately, my experiences here so far have left me with more questions than answers and I'm unhappy about what's going on. 

Today was the fourth time in two weeks that I was interviewed by a person who turned out to be someone other than whom they claimed to be. In every instance, the entire posted project was a sham meaning the actual company or entity being mentioned/used in communications, documents, and attachments had no idea of what was going on. 

To make matters even worse, today's scammer had the labels "Upwork Plus Client" on their posted project along with a "Featured Job" banner that appears in the job feed. 

People can say what they will about terms and conditions, terms of service, and who is ultimately responsible if a person falls victim to whatever these scammers are actually chasing after. However, there are much larger issues that need to be considered. Is anyone thinking about the following?

• The amount of time lost/wasted in interviewing for projects that don't actually exist.
  • The long-term (or even short-term) effect of so many of these instances on Upwork's reputation.
  • The potential fallout (including collateral damage) of someone becoming a victim of whatever these people are trying to accomplish.  

As a professional who has worked in cybersecurity, commission sales, and mortgage lending, I'm well versed in the importance of due diligence. However, it would be nice to feel like freelancers here on Upwork were getting more support from those in charge when it comes to the vetting process for clients looking to hire.