🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » File a Dispute
Page options
rphrashad
Community Member

File a Dispute

Hi.

I'm new to Upwork and I have finished two contracts but the clients are not paying me the amount. The worst thing is that they contacted me via messages and I agreed to do work. Now, when I have completed the work they are not responding to me

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

Rashad:

It sounds like you were using Upwork incorrectly.

If you are not getting paid for your work, then it is your fault. This is good news. Because it means you can change what you do in the future, and you can get paid.

Did you do the work without having an official contract in place?

When you go here:

Upwork -> My Jobs -> My Jobs

…do you see the contrast listed there?
If not, it means there is no contract, and you can not get paid.

Your subject line says “File a dispute”

But if there is no contract, then there is nothing to dispute.

Feel free to tell us more about your situation. Or ask questions.

If you want to succeed on Upwork, you need to continue learning and asking questions until you understand your mistakes.

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
petra_r
Community Member

Rashad C wrote:

I'm new to Upwork and I have finished two contracts but the clients are not paying me the amount. The worst thing is that they contacted me via messages and I agreed to do work. Now, when I have completed the work they are not responding to me

Do you have any contracts showing under "My Jobs"?

If you used Upwork correctly, you get paid automatically.

If you don't have any contracts, you can't get paid and can't file a dispute.

Real-Job-Or-Scam.jpg

No I don't have. I was new to Upwork and I didn't know how to start work

Rashad C wrote:

No I don't have. 

Then you can't get paid and there is no way to dispute. In future, don't start any work until you have been hired.

Rashad C wrote:

I was new to Upwork and I didn't know how to start work