🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Flag as inappropriate
Page options
marc_compte
Community Member

Flag as inappropriate

When you click on "Flag as inappropriate" you have various options, some of them are related to the TOS (payment outside Upwork, asking for free work,...).

But then there is a couple which seem rather subjective: more specifically "Job post is illegal or unethical" and "Job post is unclear or incomplete".

I'm just curious as to how Upwork deals with these kind of flags. A couple of times before I considered unethical job posts explicitly asking you to do homework for them and I flagged them. I'm a part-time teacher, I don't like cheating and I think it is unethical and unfair to other students unable to buy their homework. But I have no idea if that is considered unethical by Upwork.

To be more specific, I have one main question:

- Would it be possible to have some kind of feedback (automatic and template based is more than enough) on how our flags have been resolved?

I think having feedback would help raise better informed flags and less "I just don't like this" flags that may add extra work to moderators. It could save us time, to all of us.

And if not, then I have two follow-up questions:

- How does Upwork manage the unethical, unclear and incomplete flags? Does each moderator have their own opinion and go with it? Is there a cheat sheet?

- Do you consider "do my homework" ethical?

Thank you!

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Marc wrote:

But then there is a couple which seem rather subjective: more specifically "Job post is illegal or unethical" and "Job post is unclear or incomplete".

Basically, the question is whether a job post violates the terms of service or not. Something that you may find morally objectionable, but does not violate the terms of service, won't be actioned. It's less subjective that it seems at first glance.