🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Forgot to log hours manually (Manual tracking...
Page options
0119be08
Community Member

Forgot to log hours manually (Manual tracking allowed in contract)

Hi, can someone help me with my problem.

1) I started on October 28, 2021 with a weekly limit of 15 hours/week
2) Manual time is allowed in the contract
3) Since the start date, up until 7 working days after that,  I forgot to put in the hours via the Desktop tracker
4) After realizing I forgot to manually log in my hours, I finally logged them MANUALLY
5) To compensate for the missed hours the previous week, I placed in overtime.
6) Right now, my billings and earnings only reflect a couple of weeks instead of all the way to my start date.

What can we do?

Should my employer just "approve" overtime in order for me to see the remaining hours credited to me? How do they do that? 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

re: "Yeah, it's my first time with Upwork and I was honestly too focused on the onboarding process and learning the tasks the first few days."

Everybody makes mistakes when they try out new things. There's nothing wrong with that!

The important thing is that we learn from our mistakes, so that we can avoid making the same mistakes again in the future.

Now you know that the proper way to work on an hourly contract is to log time using the desktop time-tracker application. Do this, while following the rules for Upwork Payment Protection, and you ensure that you get paid. Even if the contract is ended at an unexpected time. Even if the client fails to pay Upwork, Upwork pays you out of their own pocket.

And now you know that if you DO use manually-logged time, the proper time to log that time is immediately after every work session. Not at the end of the week. Not at the end of the day. Not an hour later.

Also:

You now know that there is no "client approval" step.