cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

France invoicing

akomitska
Active

Hello,

I'm a newbie here! I've come to this website, since I'm wishing to work as a freelancer either as a writer/editor, or as as a graphic designer. I've already found quite a few sites to seek work on, however, I currently live in France and I'm unaware of the legal matters I should look into before ever taking the path of a freelancer.

I've so far went through some topics on this forum, notably related to VAT, taxes and issuing invoices, and, as I understand, the majority of freelancers register as auto-enterpreneurs before the state. Now, I'll look into all this information in greater detail in the near future but right now I feel like I should grasp the basics and inform myself on what I'm getting myself into before even starting.

My first question is, since I haven't done any freelance work before and technically, I'm just starting out with the idea to try it out and see if it works for me, should I even declare my work, if I land any job, which I'm pretty sure won't be very profitable? The thing is that I'm Bulgarian, I've recently moved to Paris and I'm living with friends, so I'm paying taxes to my own country (+ I'm taking a gap-year in between my studies), hence, I'm not registered for France's social security system. Is there a minimum of money I should be making before registering as self-employed? Also, as far as payment goes, does it matter if I register a personal or a business Paypal account? What about invoices - what should I definitely include in them? And is there an institution I could go to in order to speak to a representative who could explain all of this at once?

Thank you kindly for your help!

7 REPLIES 7
versailles
Community Guru

@Anna K wrote:

> the majority of freelancers register as auto-enterpreneurs before the state.