🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Fraud supported by Upwork (maybe unintention...
Page options
sham1914
Community Member

Fraud supported by Upwork (maybe unintentionally) + bad work of Upwork Support Team

I’m a graphic designer. I worked on one project from Nov 28 – Dec 3. Before starting, the client asked me to send him x% of my earnings (via Payoneer) after receiving them, as the owner of that project is not him but another person. We made an agreement and I started. Then I did not know that’s against the rules of Upwork (but the question is not only about that). Everything was going successfully. The client was satisfied with the process. He ended the contract by saying that we will continue in the next week and gave the highest feedback. Then, after about a week, some part ($129) of my earnings ($983) automatically was refunded (with a reasoning of low activity, which is nonsense)? He cut that from his percentage. Then, we offered to work on another project (directly for his client). My account was temporarily placed on hold after I accepted that offer. And then, another $700 was again automatically refunded to the client who is considered a “fraud” by Upwork Support team. So, we have a situation, where Upwork helps (maybe unintentionally) fraud people against his freelancers. That’s a fact for me. You spend about 40 hours, hurt your eyes, and then Upwork takes your earnings easily and sends them back to that “fraud” client. And more absurd is that they ‘strongly suggest I contact my client to ask for a bonus payment’. All that time they sent me Upwork Hourly Protection link several times instead of clearly answering why my 6 hours (from 39:20 hours) were logged according to the guidelines, but the other 33 - were not. No appropriate and clear answer, e.g.,  “You don't have an ID Verification Badge.”, or “Your client did not use a verified billing method.”, etc. When I asked if the only reason for that refund is that I forwarded some part of the money back to the cli