cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fraud

Filip B Member Since: Feb 21, 2019
1 of 7

Hello. I've just got a proposal for a job where I need 2 laptops and 2 carriers. I don't know whether I can trust him with this. Do you think this is kind of strange or should I buy the sim card at the store. I think it's bizarre that the client wants me to buy an extra sim card and share the details with him. This is my first time on upwork so I don't know how this really works and if I can trust this person.

Community Guru
Nichola L Member Since: Mar 13, 2015
BEST ANSWER
2 of 7

Filip B wrote:

Hello. I've just got a proposal for a job where I need 2 laptops and 2 carriers. I don't know whether I can trust him with this. Do you think this is kind of strange or should I buy the sim card at the store. I think it's bizarre that the client wants me to buy an extra sim card and share the details with him. This is my first time on upwork so I don't know how this really works and if I can trust this person.

You can't trust him. Report the client and have absolutely nothing to do with him. As you are new, report any job like this and remember, there is no such thing as a free lunch. So if someone offers you an unlikely set of perks, wants to send you a check or any equipment. It's a big no-no. 

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 7

I don't know why you think this is a "fraud." Maybe he just wants to hire somebody to test something.

If you DON'T already have the equipment or services needed, and if the client is not offering to buy the things you need, then I'd say it's a good idea to NOT get involved.

If you ALREADY have the equipment and services needed, then you may indeed be the right person to take on this job and earn money from it.

If the client is going to send you the equipment and services, without you paying anything, then there's not much risk, is there?