cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Free Work

dev_samal
Dev S Member Since: Aug 7, 2017
1 of 16

hi, I'm new to upwork and I applied to jobs but didn't got any reply back, I have a client outside of upwork, I told him, i'll work for him for free, but can I do that through upwork, I was thinking if I can get a review my career will start, I'm ready to work for free but upwork doesn't allow anyone to send proposal under $5 fixed price. I think if the clients payment is unverified, can he give me a review without paying me? Give me some suggestions I'm trying at upworks since 3 -5 months and nothing happened yet.

iamchunchunchun
Community Guru
Hiu Chun L Member Since: Jul 27, 2017
2 of 16

I don't think you are allowed to do this, since:

1. Providing free work is not allowed on upwork.

2. I suppose this could be considered as feedback manipulation, which is against the terms of service.

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
BEST ANSWER
3 of 16

Feedback for contracts where nothing was paid neither count nor show anyway.

Improve your profile, skills, and proposals.

Everyone started from 0 without any feedback. Doing free work is CERTAINLY not the way forward.

View solution in original post

dev_samal
4 of 16

Hi can you take a look at my profile, and give me some suggstions, I've a few portfolio items as well. and how much proposals should I send each day? , sorry for asking a lots of BS Qustions.

yitwail
Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
5 of 16

Dev, only 1 of your 3 Portfoilo links works, so  fix the other 2 and maybe take a few tests like PHP, WordPress, CSS, etc, instead of trying to do something tricky like getting feedback without receiving payment, which is impossible anyway, but even if you could do it, the client will see you did a job for 0 dollars -- and the only clients who will hire you because of that are scammers who want you to work for free.

6 of 16