🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Free tests
Page options
michelejean
Community Member

Free tests

Hello

I am having issue with a client. The job she has posted is of higher value and obviously with the lack of work she has many proposals

However she is asking for free tests and putting illustrators in competition with each other.  Even showing each freelancer what they are up against. 

I would like to report her and find out exactly what will happen to this client? As a freelancer i get jss scoring decreases for everything, even disputes when clients do not pay or comply with the rules. 

How do i go about this?
7 REPLIES 7
colettelewis
Community Member

Michele L wrote:
Hello

I am having issue with a client. The job she has posted is of higher value and obviously with the lack of work she has many proposals

However she is asking for free tests and putting illustrators in competition with each other.  Even showing each freelancer what they are up against. 

I would like to report her and find out exactly what will happen to this client? As a freelancer i get jss scoring decreases for everything, even disputes when clients do not pay or comply with the rules. 

How do i go about this?

What the client is doing is against Upwork's ToS. If you are not actually working for this client and there is no formal contract in place, go to the job post and flag the job as inappropriate giving the reasons in the dropdown menu. Your JSS will not be affected, even if you have been communicating with the client. 

Do not agree to do free work. 

mtngigi
Community Member

So now we're allowing clients to run contests by pitting multiple freelancers against each other for free work?  When will Upwork start getting rid of these scammy clients? The freelancers participating also need to get a clue.

mtngigi
Community Member

Michele L wrote:
Hello

How do i go about this?